You are here : Home » Poll
Posted On : 15 Mar, 2017  Source : PTI  Place : New Delhi 
G A Mir named Cong candidate for Anantnag Lok Sabha bypoll
Congress today announced that its Jammu and Kashmir chief G A Mir will be the party candidate for the Anantnag Lok Sabha bypoll.

"Congress Vice President Rahul Gandhi has approved the candidature of G A Mir for the ensuing bye-election to the Lok Sabha from the Anantnag Parliamentary constituency of Jammu and Kashmir," AICC general secretary Madhusudan Mistry said in a statement.

Mir will contest against PDP's Tasaduq Mufti, the son of former chief minister Mufti Mohammed Sayeed. The seat fell vacant after Mehbooba Mufti resigned and became the state chief minister following her father's death.

Sources said the Congress and the National Conference are contesting the bypolls together.

Rahul Gandhi also approved the names of Hemant Katare (Ater seat) and Savitri Singh {Bandhavgarh (ST) seat} as party candidates to contest the bye-elections in Madhya Pradesh.